Raft (Album – 2019)

New album featuring 12 string guitars and glissando.
With Guy Evans of Van Der Graaf Generator – drums and percussion,
Rog Patterson – Chapman Stick – fretless bass and acoustic,
Jo Lucy – violin,
Oscar Morse – Sax,
Jim Nield – electric guitar,
Rob Phillips – fretless bass,
Margaret MJ – piano,
Dave Reeves – harmonicas,
Oscar Morse – Sax.
Original paintings Pete Loveday

Atmospheric influences from the rugged North Cornish coastline and the story of ‘Raft’ – Some of these pieces were written, played and recorded simultaneously. All ‘string’ sounds are created by glissando.

Raft pages


“There ís a complexity to his approach, ferocity edged with a brittle beauty .. joy of living pervades .. often rainbow lit.” – Mojo May 2014

“lyrical inspiration, daring instrumental tracks that shine. 8 out of 10” – Uncut Magazine

“entirely original acoustic folk sound, some of the best acoustic music in the UK” – Shindig! Magazine

“An undoubted musical maverick, there is something profoundly elemental about his music” – R2 (Rock n Reel) Magazine


Papa Echo Alpha Charlie Echo

Papa Echo Alpha Charlie Echo
A cry for Peace. Live studio session.
NMJ – guitar/vocals and Steve McDaniel – piano.
Haunted by this song since he wrote it in 1980 NMJ decided it had to be revisited the way it was written, with piano and no overdubs. This live studio recording was filmed and is the first of a series only available as downloads direct from this site.
Download income will help continue this live series. Poor payments dictated by online corporates mean many artists creative survival now depends on direct sales. Enjoy the ‘free to view’ You Tube film and as a fair barter for this artists work please buy the high quality Wav or MP3 download here. Thank you.